© 2015 by  Red Door B&B. Proudly created with Wix.com

Call us now to book:

​1-413-394-4375

Site Title

Reviews

We were the first official guests at the Red Door B&B but you could never tell. The place was spotless, well appointed and conveniently located. And the breakfasts were made to order. I already sent friends who confirm this review.  Elaine P  8/2/15

 

My friend and I just spent a delightful weekend here.  The location is perfect in Lee, the rooms are spacious, well appointed and so pretty, also airconditioned!  But the best part was our host and hostess Al and Susan Shurtleff (former Rocklanders) were warm, gracious and helpful not to mention the delicious organic breakfasts!  The Berkshires are about the most perfect place to visit and a reasonalble drive from New York.                    Eva N. 8/2/15

 

 

We really lucked out by finding the Red Door B&B for our visit to Lee! From the moment we arrived, Susan made us feel right at home. She really made an effort to get to know both of us and offer us suggestions for things to do, see, and eat during our visit (and thoughtful details like extra towels for our beach trip were appreciated!). We enjoyed being able to walk to Main Street for lunch, and Tanglewood (our main reason for visiting) was just a short drive away. We chose the Spring Room, although all of the rooms were beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. We were also treated to two of the best breakfasts we've ever had, and Susan and her husband went out of their way to accommodate our dietary restrictions. The meals were organic, healthy, and delicious. We wholeheartedly recommend Susan and the Red Door, and we can't wait to stay here again during a future visit!  Kate and Emmanuel 8/8/15

 

This is the first time I have used Airbnb to book lodging, so I was a little skeptical and even more discerning than usual in selecting a place to stay. However, from her first response to my email inquiry, Susan (owner/host) showed herself to be courteous, professional and welcoming, which gave me the confidence to try this out and give her B&B a shot. Glad I did -- everything was exactly as it was described, and even lovelier. Susan and her husband, Al, are terrific hosts, easy-going, flexible, accommodating (including regarding food allergies/preferences). I was really surprised to learn that this is a new venture for them... They seem to really know how to do this well. The house is furnished very nicely, and is impeccably clean and welcoming. The neighborhood surrounding the house is fine -- quiet, with nice houses, and near Main Street (close enough to walk), and also close to the main roads that get you around the Berkshires. Highly, highly recommend.  Jodi and David 8/9/15

 

The house is located in quiet of Lee just off the main drag. Susan and Al are two of the warmest and most thoughtful hosts we've ever met—they are knowledgeable about the area, have printed materials on all kinds of activities avaiiably, and their back road directions to Tanglewood was great, and saved so much time getting in and out of the concert grounds. The breakfast and coffee the hosts put on each morning is phenomenal—a great way to start the day! All in all, the stay was part of the highlight of our visit to western Massachusetts. We would highly recommend this property to family and friends visiting the area!  Jeff and Elsa 8/15/15

 

Five stars. Susan and her husband were very sweet and accommodating, their home is gorgeous, and the breakfast was excellent. On top of that, the rooms are spacious, and the place is a short walk from the downtown Lee area. Highly recommended.  Sam, Nora and Jean  8/15/15

 

Susan was a wonderful hostess, we had a wonderful stay at her lovely and beautiful home. I can't recommend it highly enough. Breakfast was fabulous, the bed was comfy, and overall a great experience. The home is walking distance to restaurants/cafes and close to all the venues in the Berkshires. She has great recommendations and tips also for sightseeing and really knows the area and the community. We'll definitely come back again.  Alex and Jon 8/22/15

 

Every time we go to the Berkshires, we fall in love with it. Our recent stay at the Red Door B&B only made that feeling stronger this time. The location in Lee is perfect. It's in a quiet, beautiful neighborhood and only a short walk into town where restaurants, shops, and cafes are plentiful. We even stumbled upon a movie night in the park! Susan and Al are perfect hosts and their home is comfortable and inviting. The furnishings are gorgeous, the food and coffee are delicious, and the dogs... are adorable! In short, stay here. You won't be sorry!  Kristen and David  8/22/15

 

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay!!!! Shelley and Nikolaus  8/19/15

 

The Red Door B&B is a wonderful and convenient place to stay for your visit to the Berkshires. The rooms are large and beautifully finished, with plenty of room for relaxing. The center of Lee, with its many restaurants and small shops, is a short walk; Tanglewood, Shakespeare & Co, and also skiing at Butternut are a quick drive away. Susan and Al are perfect hosts, warm and helpful. And the breakfasts are fantastic!  S & C 9/4/15

 

Exceeded my expectations in ALL ways!  Comfy bed, and the stars at night were a bonus.  

Merci boucoup dear Susan and Al!       Alexandra & Juniper 9/15/15

 

What a fantastic experience!  Our room was lovely, relaxing and cozy.  The breakfasts were beyond our expectations~ Our hosts wonderful, interesting people; gracious and beautiful human beings!!  God Bless.  Fran & Bob 9/15/15

 

I needed a short getaway and choosing The Red Door gave me just that. at breakfast there was excellent, satisfying food and conversation. the room was attractive, clean and comfortable. main street was just a short walk away, filled with restaurants, shops, and benches to leisurely take it all in. Susan and Al were gracious, engaging and helpful throughout my 3-day stay.  A. B.  9/12/15

 

What a fantastic experience!  Our room was lovely, relaxing and cozy!  The breakfasts were beyond our expectations~our hosts wonderful, interesting people, gracious and beautiful human beings!  God Bless!

Fran & Bob H. 9/16/15

 

We had a wonderful time staying at Susan and Al's.  The room, the bed, the breakfast, all fabulous!  Very gracious hostess and host.  Thank You!  Clara and Juan 10/5/15

 

Susan- You are fantastic!  Love the room, the people we met and best of all...lovely breakfast.  Thank you so much and hope to see you again!  Shinu and Kiran  10/11/15

Thank you for being such fantastic hosts!  We had a wonderful time on our visit, and slept and ate so well!  

                                                                              Tony and Kate 10/10/15

Delightful visit!  Best  part was finding so many common experiences we have with you both!  

                                                       Be well.  Dick and Janet 10/10/15

Long and enjoyable chats!!  Positive and engaging hosts.  Love the environment. Thank you!! Matt and Deb from Austrailia 10/13/15

 

Wonderful visit!  Susan and Al are beautiful people & great hosts.  We plan to come back....all the way from Florida!  Carla and Lorrie 10/19/15

 

Great to be here-"getting to know you" visit.  Lovely room, breakfast and hosts!  Bart &  Kathy 10/20/15

 

What an amazing bed and breakfast!  We absolutely loved it here and cant wait to be back!  We will let all our friends know of their beautiful gem in the Berkshires :-)  Thank you Susan and Al for your wonderful hospitality.  Our room was lovely and breakfast so delicious. Congratulations and we wish you the very best, always!  Joe and Kay  10/25/15

 

We had such a great experience!  The food was out of this world!  All the details were perfect!  Thank you!  We hope to see you again...all the way from Oklahoma!  Jade and Michael 10/25/15

 

Thank you so much for the incredible hospitality.  You are very talented & skilled in your line of work.  Berakfast was to die for!  Such attention to detail,  We felt right at home!  Stephen & Audra  10/25/15

 

Thank you again for a wonderful time.  We feel like this is our home away from home.  We will be back and can't wait to see you both again!  Joe and Kay 12/6/15

 

Had a great time!  You were great hosts...thanks again!  Rick and Julie 12/7/15

 

Thank you so much for a very beautiful and restful stay in an oasis on our way to Boston from Toronto!  Beautiful house and delicious food.  Thank you!  Thomas and Rebekah 12/26/15

 

Susan and Al~ Thank you so very much for your kind hospitality~and inviting me for dinner so I would not have to eat alone!  Anne 1/2/16

 

Simply wonderful!  We will be back!  Tracy and Grant 2/12/16

 

What a wonderful, warm delicious place to stay!  Our new place in the berkshires. Thank you susan and al  Beth & sophia 2/18/16

 

Best night away from home & a fabulous breakfast!  Maiken with Zuzu 2/18/16

 

Home Away from Home

 

On a quiet street within walking distance of central Lee, the Red Door B&B is flawless: the place is simple and clean, comfortable and wholesome, and entirely of the utmost quality. Our rooms were spacious and spotless with soft beds and sunny windows, and a fire crackled in the living room all evening and morning. The hosts were very generous: not only were there numerous pocket-kits of shampoo/soap/conditioner set around the room for us and slabs of local Berkshire chocolate on the pillows (amazing), but Susan and Al also gave us ample information on restaurants in the area, menus, directions, and even printed us some information on the whole-house water filtration system they just installed that we were envious of (if you’re interested, it was by Aquasana). Friendly and considerate, they made us feel right at home. And then there was breakfast… As a family of foodies we were especially appreciative of the absolute feast Susan prepared for breakfast the next morning, complete with lavish fruit & yogurt parfaits, hot “strata” (egg, cheese, spinach & ciabatta pie) that we could smell baking throughout the house, sides of bacon and fresh vegetables. Susan was very accommodating of our various dietary quirks, and all her ingredients were organic and locally grown on nearby farms— delicious! Would recommend this place to anyone looking to relax, eat well, sleep well, and enjoy good company.  April 05, 2016  Beth and Sophia

Thank you guys so much for opening your wonderful home to us.  We really enjoyed our stay and loved getting to know you!  You have such a warm and comfortable place here.  Thanks again, we really had a great time!  And thank you for letting us spend time with your beautiful dogs!  Zach N. & Carly M.  5/29/16

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your lovely home.  We had a great time and enjoyed our meals and time with the dogs.  Matt M. 5/29/16

Thank you so much for the wonderful hospitality!  The beds were extremely comfy and the breakfast was great.  We felt like we were staying with family.  We'll miss Tash & Dudley, too!  Thank you for the wonderful time!  Danielle R. 5/29/16

What a lovely time we had here at the Red Door B&B!  The perfect weekend get away, with so much warmth and cheer.  Thank you so much for the warm welcome and delicious breakfasts :)  Emily G & Dawn Q. 5/30/16

Great stay-coffee excellent and enjoyed the rich conversation!  Joe R. 6/24/16

Thanks for an amazing weekend in the Berkshires!  We will always remember it and the delicious breakfasts.  Yifan & Shawn P. 6/26/16

Warm and friendly, authentically pleasing atmosphere.  Great chance to visit with dear friends.  With gratitude and love.  Will & Denise C. 6/26/16

Thank you for a wonderful stay!  Helena & Bill 6/26/16

Excellent service from the moment we reserved, straight through to checkout.  Very clear that all accomodations were thought through and picked carefully, from the exceptionally comfortable bed to the masterfully prepared breakfast.  It was so great staying with and getting to know you both.  Thank you!!!  Amanda and Jason B.  7/3/16

Heaven!  Thank you for accommodating our gluten free request.  John & Clarice Q. 7/2/16

Quaint and inviting from the pretty gardens, the very spacious rooms and most comfortable bed ever!

The owners, Susan and Al, were like meeting new friends.

Definitely a MUST go back!  And I forgot to mention the INcredible breakfast!  Come hungry!  John & Donna S. 7/4/16

Ditto to John & Donna!  We couldn't have said it better!  W will be back!  Mark & Denise M.   7/9/16

Wonderful time, great hosts!  Thank you for a great experience!  Tammy & Jerry S.  7/11/16

Enjoyed our stay very much.  Enhanced by the great hosts and wonderful food!  Phyllis & Ron L 7/11/16

Our stay at the Red Door B&B could not have been nicer.  Susan & Al were welcoming from the moment we reserved.  We stayed in the Spring room, which has its own private bathroom.  The bed linens and bath towels were of excellent quality and the mattress was, truly, perfect.  Susan's breakfasts (and Al''s coffee) were delicious as well.  And the location really can't be beat, just a short walk to the restaurants and shops in Lee and a short drive to Lenox, Pittsfield and Great Barrington.  A&J 7/9/16

We had a great stay at the Red Door B&B!  The breakfasts were scrumptious and very filling.  They set us up for the days of hiking & exploring.  Our room was spotless and spacious, and the air conditioning kept it nicely cool.  Susan and Al were very gracious hosts, and showed us the short cut to and from Tanglewood.  All in all a lovely stay, thanks!  John & Judy 7/16/16

 

Thank you for a peaceful and restful stay! Susan & Siani 7/17/16

We had a relaxing, delicious, wonderful time! Your hospitality was tremendous.  Activities:  Tanglewood, Botanical Gardens, Barrington Stage  Pirates of the Penzance) and Once Upon a Table for Salmon!  Ken & Lisa  7/17/16

      Ideal!!  Marisa & Charlie 7/20/16

What a beautiful house!  We had a wonderful time.  Steve & Lisa 7/23/16

Wonderfully comfortable, homey, great food and very cute dogs!!  Martha & Lee 7/24/16

Beautiful place and great food and company, THANK YOU!  Joe & Merrill  7/25/16

Thank you for a lovely stay in your beautiful home!  Setting was perfect and food was delicious!  Mary Alice & Katie 7/29/16

Thank you fir a great stay~Wish it could have been longer!  Very comfortable home and delicious breakfasts....Mark, Amy and Brandon  7/31/16

 

We are so glad we found you!  We enjoyed our stay very much.  We were so comfy and well fed and loved the lovely artistic touches inside & outdoors!  Becky & Paul 7/31/16

 

Thank you for a wonderful stay--Breakfast was quite delicious & nutritious!  Sudha & Amiya 8/1/16

 

This is a friendly and comfortable place. Al & Susan are wonderful hosts.  The house is cheerful and clean.  Breakfasts were super!  Thanks so much.  Michael & Camilla 8/7/16

 

We love it here!  So glad we found your beautiful home last summer & again this summer.  I think this will become a tradition.  Rooms great, hospitality superb, breakfast - yum and very satisfying!  Keep up the incredibly great work Congratulations on starting such a wonderful "retirement " business!  Jodi & David 8/7/16

 

Meticulous, memorable, magical...that was our time at your lovely retreat in the Berkshires.  Thank you for rest, conversations, nourishment and care.  Love from us all, Patti, Joe & Joseph  8/8/16

 

Short but enjoyable stay.  Very clean & hospitable.  We'll be back!!  Tom & Beate

Lovely place in a lovely town.  The house is beautiful and the owners are so nice.  Amazing home made breakfast.  Look forward to coming back!  Camille & William  8/7/16

Our hosts were so kind and informative.  We loved our stay and the breakfasts were amazing! Amanda M. 8/15/16

Friendly, accommodating hosts, comfortable room-a perfect base for exploring the Berkshires!  Amanda from England 8/15/16

Beautiful home; walking to town is a plus!  Breakfast is delicious and the hosts were delightful.  Dave & Liz 8/20/16

Wonderful hosts, beautiful house- great atmosphere & fabulous meals!  Bill & Linda 8/22/16

Great Breakfast and lovely company!  Jeanne & John 8/28/16

Thank you for a wonderful time-Hope to be back!!  Betty & John  8/28/16

Amazing food and better company! xo  Such a peaceful stay!  Theresa & Ann Marie  8/30/16

Beautiful B&B.  Great conversation!  Susan - wonderful breakfast!  Al - wonderful coffee!  Deborah & Rich 9/5/16

Wonderful stay!  Will be back soon!  Debbie 9/4/16

Such a fantastic B&B!  Wendy 9/12/16

As good as home Sweet Home!  Thank you!  Eric, Catherine & Eli  9/23/16

Wonderful, warm comfy...lovely in every way!  Thank you!  Laura 9/24/16

 

One steps into the door of the Red Door and feels at home and cared for immediately. The proprietors Susan and Al are attentive hosts. Many Inn’s are cozy, but the Red Door in is sparkling fresh and clean, it is extremely tastefully decorated and generous in the lay out of the guest rooms, breakfast and living areas. The B&B is in easy walking distance to all one would want to see and do in town. The near by restaurants are very good and unique. 
 

No comments about the Red Door would be complete without raving about the breakfasts Susan serves. She is a passionate and creative cook not shying away from time consuming preparations. The fresh coffee, made by Al, is made from locally roasted coffee beans. Susan buys milk, eggs and meats from local organic farms adding thereby additional health, taste and joy to the breakfast table. 
 

We cannot recommend the Red Door B&B any more enthusiastically and look forward to our next visit.  Henry & Heide 10/1/16

We had a wonderful time.  Great hosts, great breakfast and great area!  What a wonderful experience and lovely time!  Left us wishing we had more time her, Al and Susan made us feel right at home! Rich & Alyssa 10/7/16

Very nice breakfast, awesome service as well!  The rooms are lovely, the beds are made every day, it's living in comfort!  I loved the activities in the area as well.  Susan and Al it was an awesome stay!  Thank you for having me!!!!!!  

Nathaniel age 9  PS the doorstep was really clean.  10/19/16

Home away from home, Thank you Susan and Al.  Raquel

Thank you for a beautiful and relaxing stay!  Your hospitality made us feel at home and we hope to return soon!  Arnab & Aditi12/26/16

Thanks for everything!  So Cozy. So Awesome !  Matt & Heather 12/28/16

So welcoming. So kind Thanks Susan & Al    Luke, Basil, Lily & Jan 12/28/16

Thank you for being so wonderful!  Maggie & Kate 12/28/16

Thank you so much for the short, but wonderful stay!  The food, conversation and puppy love was very memorable!  We hope to have the pleasure of staying with you again!  :-)  Rada & Michael 5/5/16

Everything was as good as advertised on the web.  Highly recommend Red Door! Bill & Helen 5/19/17

Incredible!  Cannot wait until our next visit.  Thank you for your hospitality, warmth and amazing food!  See you VERY soon@  Chad & Swetha  5/28/17

wonderful visit!  Terrific breakfast, great location, friendly atmosphere.  my kids brought me for a birthday weekend and we had a terrific time.  great hosts.  Highly recommend!  

prudence, john and Catherine  6/2/17

 

Thank you for making our Anniversary Weekend getaway a memorable one!  Location was perfect...a quick walk to your great downtown area.  Appreciate Al's tip to checkout Sheffield for antiques-found some treasures :)  Food and hospitality were top notch!!  Mike & Melissa 6/9/17

Thank you for a most restful stay!  Nancy 6/17/17

My wife and I recently stayed at the Red Door B&B, and we had a great experience. Our hosts, Susan and Al, were accommodating, friendly, and considerate. We booked the Spring Room, which was clean and comfortable. From the Red Door, we could walk to Main Street and enjoy the restaurants. We had a full weekend-- but Red Door's location made the Norman Rockwell Museum, Tanglewood, Mt. Greylock, and a couple craft breweries easily accessible. The truest test of the quality of our stay is simple: we plan to return!  The best B&B experience we've had in years.  Austin  6/23/17

 Susan and Al we had such a lovely stay.  you are so welcoming and accommodating, and breakfast was fantastic.  You are part of why our trip out to the Berkshires was so memorable.  Thanks for everything!  Jiin-Yu  6/23/17